Home     Site map     Contact-us     Français   

 CF-CPA Join the adventure!
    Text: larger | smaller
 

HISTORY > PIONEERS OF THE CANADIAN AVIATION
Men of courage and vision

<< Back to main Pioneers page

J. Paul Laframboise
(1895-1989)

Recognized as one of the very first air cartographers, Paul Laframboise was, for about 50 years, a true leading aerial survey pioneer. Educated at the Ottawa College and Queen's University, Laframboise served during WWI with the Canadian Engineers Corps. In the summer of 1918, he transferred to the Royal Air Force to receive aviator training but the Armistice interrupted his course. He then joined the Geological Survey at the Federal Department of Mines (Canada). In 1923, Laframboise joined the Fairchild Aerial Camera Corporation of New York. The next year, he transferred his expertise to the recently formed subsidiary organization Fairchild Aerial Surveys Co. (of Canada), based at Lac-à-la-Tortue, Quebec.

Laframboise became a specialist in mosaic cartography, the science of assembling thousands of pictures to create a global map. As Roméo Vachon later explained: “It is no easy task to put together aerial shots, bring them to the same proportion and make a map out of it”.

Absorbed by Canadian Airways in 1930, the mapping division moved to Montreal, Quebec. Laframboise became Superintendent of laboratory work. In 1935, Canadian Airways Bulletin wrote: “Mr. Laframboise has had a long, varied and probably unequalled experience on aerial survey”. Fairchild Aviation News also revealed in 1938 that he had “more experience in mosaic work than any other man”. The same year, Roméo Vachon presented him as “the best air cartographer in Canada”. Resuming military service during World War II, he returned to Canada in 1945 to become manager of Canadian Pacific Air Lines mapping division (which had absorbed, in turn, Canadian Airways in 1942).

When CPAL sold its mapping division around 1952, Laframboise worked briefly for Spartan Aerial Surveys. He then joined A.E. Simpson Ltd at Cartierville, Quebec, with former Fairchild colleagues Walter Kahre, “Joe” Jolivet, and Albert E. Simpson. Thanks to the outstanding quality of the staff, the small firm established itself as one of the best around and operated until the mid 1960s. Laframboise later moved to Quebec city, working for Aero Photo. He retired in 1970, at age 75.

Thank you to the Quebec Air and Space Museum for this biography.


  Copyright © Air Marcel inc. (2007-2009)  |  Conception - Natmark-Concept inc.

Accueil     Plan du site     Contactez-nous     English   

 CF-CPA  Vivez l'aventure!
    Texte : grossir | rapetisser
 

HISTORIQUE > PIONNIERS DE L'AVIATION CANADIENNE
Des hommes de courage et de vision

<< Retour à la page principale des pionniers

J. Paul Laframboise
(1895-1989)

Reconnu comme l'un des tout premiers cartographes aériens, Paul Laframboise fut, pendant près de 50 ans, un pionnier de la photographie aérienne. Après des études au collège d'Ottawa et à l'Université Queen, Laframboise servit durant la Première Guerre mondiale au sein du Corps des ingénieurs. À l'été 1918, il transféra dans la Royal Air Force pour y suivre un entraînement d'aviateur, interrompu par l'armistice. Après la guerre, Laframboise travailla à divers projets d'arpentage pour le Département fédéral des Mines. En 1923, Laframboise se joignit à la Fairchild Aerial Camera Corporation de New York. L'année suivante, Laframboise transférait son expertise à la Fairchild Aerial Surveys Co. (of Canada), filiale récemment inaugurée au Lac-à-la-Tortue, Qc.

Laframboise y devint un spécialiste de la cartographie en mosaïque, technique nécessitant la juxtaposition précise de milliers de clichés dans le but d'établir une carte globale. Comme le soulignera Roméo Vachon quelques années plus tard : « C'est tout un art que de rassembler des photographies prises du haut des airs, de les ramener à la même proportion, d'en faire une carte ».

Absorbée par Canadian Airways en 1930, la division cartographique transféra son bureau chef à Montréal. Laframboise fut nommé surintendant de laboratoire. En 1935, Canadian Airways Bulletin écrivait à son sujet qu'il possédait une expérience « longue, variée et probablement inégalée dans le domaine de la cartographie aérienne ». En 1938, Fairchild Aviation News confirmait qu'il comptait « plus d'expérience dans la cartographie en mosaïque qu'aucun autre homme ». La même année, Roméo Vachon le présentait comme « le meilleur cartographe aérien au Canada ». Laframboise reprit du service durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. De retour au Canada en 1945, Il devint gérant de la division cartographique de C. P. Air Lines (laquelle avait absorbé Canadian Airways en 1942).

Vers 1952, CP Air Lines liquidait sa division cartographique. Laframboise travailla brièvement pour Spartan Aerial Surveys avant de se retrouver chez A.E. Simpson Ltd à Cartierville. Là-bas, il retrouva d'anciens collègues du temps de la Fairchild : Walter Kahre, «Joe» Jolivet, Albert E. Simpson. La petite firme, renommée pour la qualité exceptionnelle de son personnel, opéra jusqu'au milieu des années 60. Laframboise travailla ensuite à Québec chez Aéro Photo. Il prit finalement sa retraite en 1970, à l'âge de 75 ans.

Merci au Musée de l'air et de l'espace du Québec pour cette biographie.


  Copyright © Air Marcel inc. (2007-2009)  |  Conception - Natmark-Concept inc.